September 2016
Principal Editor's Prelude

UHTS collected works

This tardy and final edition of cattails for 2016 comes to you with an apology and a fond farewell as we pass the United Haiku and Tanka Society torch. We are proud to announce that the UHTS now has 626 members! Thank you to everyone who has been ever so patient and understanding of us during this time of transition.

Needless to say, if anyone finds errata or has work missing (check thoroughly), please contact me (only) at and I will have the Webmaster correct it.

We wish the new Principal Editor (Sonam Chhoki) and the team she has chosen to support her, the very best for 2017 in shaping an even bigger and better Society and online journal, while maintaining our original mission standards.

We warmly express our deepest gratitude to the original founders and support team members for allowing us to maintain the balance it took to run an operation such as the United Haiku and Tanka Society and cattails. Please visit the UHTS homepage for more details.

United Haiku and Tanka Society was formed as an International, US based, Society. Originally founded by Officers: Michael McClintock, peterB, an'ya, Carole MacRury, Linda Galloway, Raffael de Gruttola, Michael Rehling, Bette Wappner (b'oki), Marianna Monaco, Amelia Fielden, and the following Team Members: Ed Baker, Elizabeth McFarland, Cindy Lommasson, Kala Ramesh, Shrikaanth Krishnamurthy, Marjorie Buettner, Paresh Tiwari, Barbara Snow, and Sonam Chhoki.

As founding principal editor of cattails, it has been my sheer pleasure and distinct honor to serve you.

—UHTS cattails principal editor an'ya, USA    

Now from your new Principal Editor Sonam Chhoki, here are some details for the coming year and years to come:

Submissions for the new year will open on 1 January, 2017 (see the main UHTS homepage for specific guidelines on how, what, and where to submit).

United Haiku and Tanka Society, 2017

UHTS President Alan Summers, United Kingdom

UHTS Vice President: Neal Whitman, USA

UHTS Secretary Iliyana Stoyanova, United Kingdom

UHTS cattails Principal Editor Sonam Chhoki, Bhutan

UHTS cattails Managing Editor Mike Montreuil, Canada

UHTS cattails Haiku Editor Geethanjali Rajan, India

UHTS cattails Haibun Editor Sonam Chhoki, Bhutan

UHTS cattails Tanka Editor David Terelinck, Australia

UHTS cattails Senryu Editor Gautam Nadkarni, India

UHTS cattails Contest Coordinator Marianna Monaco, USA

​UHTS cattails Resident Artist Cindy Lommasson, USA

UHTS cattails Youth Editor Kala Ramesh, India